Sixteen localities are to get administrative committees directly elected by the people and using part of the budgets of their respective councils, Parliamentary Secretary Chris Said said today.

The localities are areas which are somewhat cut off from the towns or villages which their councils serve or have their own particular needs.

Dr Said told that the localities will be Fleur de Lys (Birkirkara council), Santa Lucija (Kercem), Guardamangia (Pieta), Paceville (St Julians), Kappara (San Gwann), Madliena (Swieqi), Marsalforn (Zebbug), Bubaqra (Zurrieq), Xlendi (Munxar);

Bahar ic-Caghaq (Naxxar), Swatar (Msida), Burmarrad (St Paul's Bay), Bahrija (Rabat), Tal-Virtu (Rabat), Hal Farrug (Luqa) St Peters (Zabbar).

The committees will have five members each. They will determine the use of the funds assigned to them and may apply for EU special funds and EU funds.

The elections are expected to be held in March.

Dr Said said the electoral process would be different in that voting time would be shorter than in normal council elections, and vote-counting would take place in the localities. Residents would be able to vote according to their address in the electoral register. They would use their ID cards.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us