AmCham Malta - the American Chamber of Commerce in Malta - is hosting the European Council of American Chambers of Commerce to their annual fall meeting at the Westin Dragonara Resort, St Julian's, between Wednesday and Friday next week.

The theme of the conference, at which over 25 European AmChams will be represented, will be 'Crisis Management: Strategies for Survival'.

Delegates will be addressed by ECACC chairman Stephen Brugger, AmCham Malta chairman Anton Tabone, Foreign Minister Tonio Borg and Finance Minister Tonio Fenech.

"Despite our relatively small Chamber we still managed to win an international bid among all 40 AmChams in Europe to host the conference," AmCham president Anton Tabone said, while thanking Malta Enterprise for its support. "We are looking forward to promoting Malta's salient business and touristic features with our guests."

The event's programme includes a welcome reception at the residence of the newly appointed US Ambassador Douglas Kmiec, a lateral thinking workshop led by Prof. Edward De Bono, a briefing by Malta Enterprise, and a showcase of the Business Balance Scorecard by ENERGS managing director Gerald Strickland.

Two sessions on best practices will be held. Mr Brugger will lead one which will focus on how AmChams are dealing with the financial crisis. Oliver Griffith of AmCham France will focus on "How to increase membership during crisis time".

The ECACC will also hold its board meeting during the event.

"In anticipation of its first ever fall conference set in Malta, the European Council of American Chambers of Commerce, representing 40 chambers from across Europe and almost $1.1 trillion in investment, is looking forward to constructing a solid dialogue between American business and the Maltese government," Mr Brugger told The Times Business.

"This year's outstanding conference programme, organised by AmCham Malta and set against the ideal backdrop of Valletta, will provide us with a unique opportunity to discuss Maltese political and economic priorities with the Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister."