The Dean of Science Awards for the 2016-2017 academic year were recently awarded to outstanding students of the University of Malta’s Faculty of Science.

This year’s award winners were first-year students Jonathan Farrugia, Xandru Mifsud and Dylan Zammit; second-year students Nicky Abela, Daniela Cassar and Curt Healey; third-year students Alberto Cassar, Lyndon Mallia and Julia Xerri, and fourth-year students Abigail Barbara, Andrè Borg and Luke Spiteri.

Wayne Grech won the special prize for science sponsored by Technoline for his outstanding performance throughout the 2013-2017 BSc (Hons) Mathematics and Physics programme. Claire Grima (Biology) and Mikael Scerri Forte (Biology) received the award for the best environment final year project sponsored by the Environment and Resources Authority.

Andrè Borg (Mathematics & Statistics and Operations Research) won the award for the best final year project in the numerate sciences, sponsored by the Malta Communications Authority. Abigail Aquilina (Biology and Chemistry) was presented the Aurobindo prize for Analytical Chemistry. Samuel Muscat (Chemistry) won the Medichem prize for organic chemistry.

Certificates of merit were also awarded for high standards reached in the final year dissertation: Godfrey Agius, Abigail Aquilina, Andrè Borg, Marie Camilleri, Romario Catania, Jeremy Curmi, Karl Fiteni, Maria Hili, Dale Micallef, Samuel Muscat, Lorella Spiteri, Luke Spiteri, Julia Vella and Matthew Vella.

The awards were presented by faculty dean Charles Sammut in the presence of University rector Alfred Vella and Parliamentary Secretary for Youth Clifton Grima.


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus