The 12th meeting of the season at the Marsa Racetrack yesterday afternoon, heralded the start of the prestigious Tazza l-Kbira Championship for Premier Class trotters.

Races were held over a long distance of 2,640 metres.

The card included six heats from this championship with 24 trotters making it to the semi-final stage. This year, the Tazza l-Kbira races are being held in conjunction with sponsors Bank of Valletta.

In the first heat, early leader Uhal Berven (Rodney Gatt) had to go all the way in the final metres to stave off the challenge coming from Italian Overtaker By Sib (Marco Refalo).

Unrefundable (Frenċu Cassar) and Saphir Du Perche (Anton Cassar) were third and fourth places respectively. For Uhal Berven this was its first win of the season.

Tanguy De Nappes (Ronald Cassar) and Careful Victory (Noel Baldacchino) sprinted neck and neck at the straight for home in the next championship heat.

At the post it was Tanguy De Nappes which sealed its first win at the racetrack with Tonio Du Vivier (Charles Camilleri) and Tempo Boy (Clint Vassallo) also progressing to the semi-final stage.

In the third heat, French newcomer Tonnerre De Retz (Julian Farrugia) looked poised for victory but slowed its pace at the turn for the final straight.

Victory went to Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo), finishing ahead of Quo Williams (Rodney Gatt), Tacticien Jiel (Charles Camilleri) and Supercool Langkjaer (Anton Pace) in that order.

As expected, Service Secret (Andrew Farrugia) registered its third win in the fourth champion-ship heat.

Farrugia’s trotter increased its pace significantly during the last 500 metres and flashed home several lengths in front of second-placed Pine Rolls (Rodney Gatt).

Vasterbo Paradise (Noel Baldac-chino) was third ahead of Embassy Caviar (Dylan Gatt) who made it home in fourth place.

In the fifth heat, Midsummer King (Noel Baldacchino) made a strong dash on the outside with some 300 metres remaining, going on to claim its first win of the year from Va Petit Mousse (Anton Cassar).

Tennis d’Anjou (Christian Xerri) and Robinson Wic (Clint Vassallo) followed behind.

Driver Baldacchino also trium-phed in the sixth and last Premier Class heat yesterday.

Driving Jaguar Broline, he put his Swedish trotter in the lead in the straight to seal its second win in a row.

Sos Amor (Salvu Cutajar) was second ahead of Uccello Jet (Mario Fenech) and Donald Duck Tooma (Caillin Borg).

Another meeting at the racetrack will be held next Sunday.

Winners at Marsa racetrack

Race 1: Silver Class – Enzo Nova (Julian Farrugia) – 1.18.4”
Race 2: Premier Class heat – Uhal Berven (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.8”
Race 3: Premier Class heat – Tanguy De Nappes (Ronald Cassar) – 1.16.6”
Race 4: Silver Class – Uranus Du Lilas (Emmanuel Fenech) – 1.18”
Race 5: Silver Class – Signe (James Carabott) – 1.17.8”
Race 6: Premier Class heat – Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo) – 1.17.5”
Race 7: Premier Class heat – Service Secret (Andrew Farrugia) – 1.15.4”
Race 8: Premier Class heat – Midsummer King (Noel Baldac-chino) – 1.18”
Race 9: Premier Class heat – Jaguar Broline (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.3”
Race 10: Silver Class – Metallic Beat (Rodney Gatt) – 1.18.5”


Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus