The trophies at stake for Sunday’s big race at Marsa.The trophies at stake for Sunday’s big race at Marsa.

The President’s Cup Final at the Marsa Racetrack is normally staged on Republic Day but this year the Malta Racing Club have decided to bring the event forward to next Sunday.

The club said there were various reasons behind the decision but, primarily, the move will allow more Premier trotters to participate in the President’s Cup as the event will not clash with the Prix de Vincennes for French horses, also held on December 13.

This will be the 14th edition of the President’s Cup and the first under the patronage of President Marie Louise Coleiro Preca who will present trophies to the winners on Sunday.

The distance for the final has been established at 2,140m.

That makes the two top events in the local calendar contested over different race lengths as the Tazza l-Kbira is raced over the longer distance of 2,640m.

As happened in the past three years, it will be the owners, or their representatives, who will choose the number with which their horse will start behind the car.

The sequence of choosing is decided according to placings and timings in the semi-finals.

The Malta Racing Club Council has prepared a varied programme with the youngsters attending the Horse Racing Academy taking the major role. As always, the President’s Cup is organised in order to raise funds for l-Istrina.

The 12 horses in the final will parade in front of the public donning red blankets given to them by the club. The total prize-money is €3,600. The owners of the top four horses will all receive trophies.

Last year’s President’s Cup winner, Gently di Poggio, will be among the starters on Sunday along with VOB Grand Final winner Pat de Fontaine, Prix de Vincennes winner Ohime Mag and the Assikura Gold Championship top trotter Phenix de la Roque.

The list of entries
Vejby Boom (Charles Camilleri); Mad Image (Rodney Gatt); Pat de Fontaine (Noel Baldacchino); Pedro Vici (Johann Axisa); Original Blue (Chris Cassar); Phenix de la Roque (Frencu Cassar); Ohime Mag (Ronald Cassar); Oran (Car-melo Farrugia); Gently di Poggio (Brian Hili); Poulot des Cinty (Clint Vassallo); Mint Kronos (Julian Farrugia); and Made In Hoff (Thomas Bonde).

Last four winners
2010 Lucas Ness (Mario Farrugia); 2011 Livi Cantona (Charles Camilleri); 2012 Mont Cenis Honey (Noel Baldacchino); 2013 Gently di Poggio (Brian Zammit).


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus