The 20th meeting of the season, made up of nine races, was held yesterday at the Marsa Racetrack.

The two most important events were a flat race on a distance of 1,750 metres and a Premier Class trotting race over a mile.

These races were won by Ollie Fliptrik and Prieure respectively. The latter also managed to establish a new national record for the mile distance.

Charles Camilleri was the meeting’s best driver with two wins.

Thirteen horses lined up for the Premier Class race which was decided in the final metres.

Prieure (Camilleri) dashed strongly from the outside with around 400 metres to go.

This French 11-year-old trotter seized the lead midway through the home straight to register its first win on the islands from favourite Zalgado Transs R (Nicholas Bonello).

German newcomer Isalus (Charles Magro) and Chiara Sisu (Melvin Farrugia) were third and fourth respectively.

In winning its first race at Marsa, Prieure averaged 1.12.7” per kilometre, a national record.

Milord Barbes (Frenċu Cassar) led all the way in the Gold Class race. This French 14-year-old trotter set the pace from the start and preserved its half-length advantage until the finish line.

Milord Barbes triumphed from Ollico Pellois (Noel Baldacchino) and Quintet Du Vivier (Camilleri).

Obelix Molgard (Salvu Vella) followed home in that order.

Yesterday’s card also included three races for Silver Class trotters. The first race was won by Vasterbo Mugger (Charles Degiorgio) which secured its first win in Malta after leading all the way.

In the second and third Silver races, Purple Hall (Camilleri) and Foot Stompin Music (David Galea) also recorded their first wins of the season after increasing their speed 300 metres from the end.

The only flat race of the day was contested by three horses. As expected, Ollie Fliptrik (Michael Sultana) was the first horse out of the gates. In the first metres, this American nine-year-old horse opened a half-length lead from Buttermilk (Eric Zammit).

Ollie Fliptrik never relinquished the lead to gain its first win of the season easily by more than five lengths from Buttermilk. Bon Santos (Charles Pace) finished third.

The next meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Sunday, starting at 1.45pm.

Winners at Marsa

Race 1: Bronze, Pacha De Sassy (Omar Cauchi) – 1.15.7”.
Race 2: Silver, Vasterbo Mugger (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.14.9”.
Race 3: Bronze, Borups Hero (Darren Mizzi) – 1.15.2”.
Race 4: Flat, Ollie Fliptrik (Michael Sultana) – 1.49.6”.
Race 5: Silver, Purple Hall (Charles Camilleri) – 1.14.8”.
Race 6: Gold, Milord Barbes (Frenċu Cassar) – 1.15.8”.
Race 7: Bronze, Darling Sjohammar (Salvu Vella) – 1.15.9”.
Race 8: Premier, Prieure (Charles Camilleri) – 1.12.7”.
Race 9: Silver, Foot Stompin Music (David Galea) – 1.14.2”.


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus