The highlights of yesterday’s 30th meeting at the Marsa Racetrack were five championship finals for French trotters on a short distance of 2,140 metres.

The French championships were this year organised by the Malta Racing Club with the financial support of French association Le Trot and betting agencies PMU and Izibet.

In the Prix De Vincennes for Premier Class trotters, it was Quartz De Vindecy which triumphed under the guidance of Carmelo Farrugia.

Yesterday’s card also included the Mediterranean Derby for flat racing on a distance of 1,750m.

The prestigious trophy went to Irish mare Gold As Good, yesterday ridden by Italian jockey Sebastiano Guerrieri.

Eleven trotters lined up for the Premier final. Queztal De Brix (Clint Vassallo) set the early pace, opening a small lead from Radieux De Crennes (Marius Mizzi) and Quartz De Vindecy (Carmelo Farrugia), but, with around 400m to go, the early leader began to slow down.

In the home straight, Farrugia put Quartz De Vindecy in front and this French trotter sealed its first win of the season from favourite Ruy Blas D’Ariane (Rodney Gatt).

Quebir De l’Aube (Julian Farrugia) and Turnover (Frenċu Cassar) finished third and fourth respectively.

In the Prix De Caen final (Copper), early leader Uranos (Tony Demanuele) ran out of steam when the front horses turned for the home stretch. Uranos was overtaken by Brio De Malte (Rodney Gatt) which gained its third win of the year easily by a length from Aster Jador (Noel Baldacchino) and Norfolk De Gouerie (Mario Falzon).

Sacre Look (George Muscat) dashed strongly from the outside around 400 metres from the end to secure its maiden victory at Marsa in the Prix d’Enghien final for Gold trotters.

The winner was followed home by Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo), Sirius Atao (Noel Baldacchino), Solide Du Jayle (Tony Cauchi) and Tempo Boy (Michael Ellul).

A keen tussle between two trotters, Tsardiem (Noel Baldac-chino) and Quipson (Rodney Gatt) developed in the final straight of the Silver final (Prix De Cabourg). It was the former which claimed its second win in a row ahead of Sillon Du Breuil (Michael Ellul), Rocky Mati (Carl Caruana) and Tresor De Quesny (Andrew Farrugia).

Saphir Censerie (Kurt Saliba) led all the way in the Bronze final to open its account at Marsa.

The other top-five finishers were Teddy Brador (Charles Camilleri), Pittacos (Noel Baldacchino), Petit Pierricais (Brian Zammit) and Tango d’Essag (Michael Ellul).


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus