Driven by Carmelo Farrugia, Quartz De Vindecy won yesterday’s major event at the Marsa Racetrack.

This was the Prix De Ile De France final for French trotters from the Premier Class on a long distance of 2,640 metres.

Eleven horses lined up for the top-tier final. Before the start, one of the favourites, Uhal Berven, was scratched by its owners.

Sage De Gueriniere (Andrew Farrugia) set the early pace, opening a slight lead from Quiet Du Chene (Mario Fenech) and Ricky Rock (Clint Vassallo).

However, with 600 metres to go, it was Quartz De Vindecy (Carmelo Farrugia) which started to up its pace from the outside and took the lead 400m from the finish line.

Quartz De Vindecy registered its second win of the season easily by two lengths from Tennis d’Anjou (Charles Degiorgio), Tino La Ravelle (Charles Camilleri) and Sage De Gueriniere.

Quiet Du Chene finished in fifth place.

Yesterday’s card also included four other finals for French trotters.

These were the Prix De Normandie for Gold Class horses, the Prix De Cote d’Azur (Silver), the Prix De Bretagne (Bronze) and the Prix De Val De Loire final (Copper).

Favourite Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo) had to go all the way in the final straight of the Gold final to record its sixth win of the year and third in a row from Tango De La Manza (Brian Zammit).

Tempo Boy (Michael Ellul), Quartz Pierji (Carmelo Farrugia) and Spirit Des Logos (Carmelo Agius) claimed a top-five finish.

Another favourite, Simons Rose (Noel Baldacchino), produced a burst of pace midway through the home stretch of the Silver final to cross the line first ahead of Turbot De Renier (Ivan Bilocca) and Sillon Du Breuil (Rodney Gatt).  Tsardiem (Julian Farrugia) and Ultime Des Racques (Clint Vassallo) secured the other top-five positions.

For Simons Rose, this was its sixth win in Malta and fourth in a row.

In the Bronze final, the early leader, Atout De Carriere (Michael Sultana), ran out of steam midway through the final straight.

Eventually, this six-year-old trotter was overtaken by Quid De Belle Vue (Charles Camilleri) which sealed its fourth win of the year from Scoop Pellois (Mario Farrugia).

Voila Dry (Ivan Bilocca) and Rikita Du Moulin (Jeffrey Said) followed behind in that order.

A keen duel between two trotters developed in the home stretch of the Copper final.

It was Bengali De Larre (Noel Baldacchino) which gained its second win in Malta from Akemi (Clive Gerada).

Valentino De Monti (Nathaniel Barbara), Uranos (Tony Demanuele) and Baptiste Menuet (Mark Desira) finished third, fourth and fifth respectively.

The presentation of trophies to the winners was carried out by Edwin Borg, the Malta Racing Club chairman, Emmanuelle Morvillers, on behalf the French Association Le Trot, and Franco Degabriele, from betting company Izibet.

Yesterday’s winners

Race 1: Copper, Enjos TS (Kurt Saliba) – 1.18.5”.
Race 2: Bronze, Rothko Inn Ronco (Charles Farrugia) – 1.18”.
Race 3: Bronze, Ricciola Jet (Rodney Gatt) - NTR.
Race 4: Gold, The Candyman (Michael Sultana) – 1.16.9”.
Race 5: Silver, Une De Clopeau (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.2”.
Race 6: Prix De Val De Loire Final (Copper), Bengali De Larre (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.20.5”.
Race 7: Prix De Bretagne Final (Bronze), Quid De Belle Vue (Charles Camilleri) – 1.20.6”.
Race 8: Prix De Ile De France Final (Premier), Quartz De Vindecy (Carmelo Farrugia) – 1.17.4”.
Race 9: Prix De Normandie Final (Gold), Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo) – 1.17.6”.
Race 10: Prix De Cote d’Azur Final (Silver), Simons Rose (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.18.1”.