The 23rd meeting of the season, made up of ten races all for trotters, was held yesterday afternoon.

As expected, the most important race on the card was the one from Premier Class, held over a long distance of 2,640m.

Thirteen trotters took part in the major race. Quesito d’Or (Anton Cassar) was the fastest in the initial stages, ahead of Livi Cantona (Charles Camilleri), Swan Des Tesnieres (Frank Portelli), Retz Du Lys (Charlton Gauci) and Turn-over (Frenċu Cassar).

With a lap to go Quesito d’Or was still going strong but then Swan Des Tesnieres produced an impressive burst of pace to cross the finishing line first.

Quesito d’Or was the runner-up ahead of Ripsos De Fa (Ivan Bilocca) and Rainbow Dancer (Michael Ellul).

Swan Des Tesnieres covered the distance at an average time of 1.15.9” per kilometre.

Meanwhile, a keen tussle between three trotters ensued in the final straight of the first Gold race yesterday.

At the post, favourite Pacific Joy (Anthony Bartolo) gained its second win in a row, a whisker faster than Lover Roc (Juergen Attard).

Hilda Nalan (Clint Vassallo) hit the front midway through the final straight of the other Gold Class race in programme for its first win here, easily by a length and a half from Fakir Haleryd (Raymond Schembri).

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Friday evening.

The race winners

Race 1: Copper. Brio De Malte (Michael Axisa) – 1.19.5”
Race 2: Bronze. Sandrone (Roland Jansson – Sweden) – 1.20.6”
Race 3: Copper. Aster Jador (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.16.8”
Race 4: Silver. Reprise Arriba (Rodney Gatt) – 1.17.2”
Race 5: Bronze. Dreamed Victory (Jason Zahra) – 1.17.2”
Race 6: Gold. Pacific Joy (Anthony Bartolo) – 1.15.9”
Race 7: Bronze. Coquihala (Josef Farrugia) – 1.18.3”
Race 8: Premier. Swan Des Tesnieres (Frank Portelli) – 1.15.9”
Race 9: Silver. Roma M (Paul Galea) – 1.17.4”
Race 10: Gold. Hilda Nalan (Clint Vassallo) – 1.16.6”


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus