The Tazza l-Kbira final was the main attraction during yesterday’s 20th meeting of the season at the Marsa racetrack.

Swedish trotter Vejby Boom won the coveted trophy after topping the 2,640 metres race reserved for class Premier trotters.

This year, this traditional competition was organised by the Malta Racing Club thanks to the financial backing of Italian company Equality.

Twelve horses took part in the class Premier final.

Quesito d’Or (Anton Cassar) was the fastest horse in the early stages, opening a small lead from Brigadoon (Charles Camilleri), Uvario (Charles Debono) and Quefi Des Caillons (Michael Ellul).

With a lap to go, it was Quefi Des Caillons that took the lead. However this French trotter ran out of steam around 500m from the finishing line and was overtaken by Nico Oland (Julian Farrugia).

But the race had one final twist as during the last 300 metres, Carl Caruana’s Vejby Boom produced a burst of pace to cross the finish line first ahead of Nico Oland and Uvario.

Vejby Boom clocked an average time of 1.15.7” per kilometre.

At the end of this final, Parliamentary Secretary for Sport Chris Agius presented the winning trophy to Sunny Calleja and Carl Caruana, owner and driver respectively of the winning horse.

Two of the class Copper races scheduled for yesterday were semifinals from the Tazza San Franġisk Championship on a short distance of 2,140m.

In the first semi-final, Bonus Du Gade, under the guidance of young Dylan Baldacchino, started to increase its speed with a lap to go. This French trotter overtook the early leader Poete De La Sarthe (Kurt Saliba) around 600m to the end and crossed the line first.

However, later on, the racing stewards disqualified Bonus Du Gade for hooking during the last 200 metres and the win was awarded to High Handed (Tony Demanuele). Atout De Carriere (Michael Sultana), Amiral Benault (Paul Galea), Amigo Cash (Charles Farrugia) and Tilt De La Loge (Noel Baldacchino) also progressed to the final.

For High Handed this was its second win in a row in Malta.

Favourite Bolide Boy Honey (Jesmar Gafa’) led all the way during the second class Copper semi-final.

This French five-year-old trotter gained its second consecutive win on the islands easily by around seven lengths from Umbra Hornline (Charles Camilleri). Buckens Stjarna (Toni Tanti), Meadow Dancer (Ludvic Ghigo) and Frida K. (Mario Farrugia) were the last trotters to qualify for the final race.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held next Friday starting at 7pm.

Yesterday’s winners at Marsa...

Race 1. Equality Class Gold – Big Ben (Salvu Cutajar) – 1.16.9”
Race 2. Equality Class Gold – Pacific Joy (Anthony Bartolo) – 1.16.7”
Race 3. San Frangisk Championship semi-final, Class Copper – High Handed (Tony Demanuele) – 1.18.9”
Race 4. Equality Class Gold – Ulk De Cessevil (Chris Vassallo) – 1.16.6”
Race 5. San Frangisk Championship semi-final, Class Copper – Bolide Boy Honey (Jesmar Gafa’) – 1.16.7”
Race 6. Equality Class Gold – Quoi De Neuf Ici (Redent Magro) – 1.16.3”
Race 7. Equality Tazza l-Kbira Championship Final – Vejby Boom (Carl Caruana) – 1.15.7”
Race 8. Equality Class Gold – Memory Chip (Julian Farrugia) – 1.15.9”


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus