The swearing-in of the new Cabinet has been held at the Palace in Valletta.

The ceremony was presided by President George Abela, accompanied by Prime Minister Joseph Muscat, the Chief Justice and the Attorney General.

The ceremony was held in the Red Room. The guests included the families of the new ministers and parliamentary secretaries.

The Cabinet is composed as follows.

Joseph Muscat, Prime Minister. Responsible for - Cabinet Office, Internal Audit and Investigations, Public Administration, Strategic Policy Coordination, Management Efficiency Unit, Information, Planning, Policy and Priorities Coordination, Malta Environment and Planning Authority, Government Printing Press, Lands, Land Registry, Joint Office

Louis Grech, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of European Affairs. Responsible for Relations with the European Union EU Internal Coordination, EU Presidency 2017, EU Funds and Programmes

George Vella, Minister of Foreign Affairs. Relations with Foreign and Commonwealth Countries, Relations with International Organisations and Institutions, International Economic Relations, Maltese Communities Abroad

Karmenu Vella, Minister of Tourism. Tourism, Tourism Studies, Cultural Heritage, Restoration, External Transport, Airport, National Library, National Archives, Culture and the Arts, National Orchestra, Theatres, Valletta 2018 Local Government

Evarist Bartolo - Minister of Education and employment. Childcare and Early Education,Compulsory Education, Higher Education (including MCAST), Life-long Learning, Examinations, Public Libraries, Employment and Training, Research and Innovation, Centre for Development, Research and Training, Science and Technology Policy, Youth, Sport and Sport complexes.

Leo Brincat, Minister for the environment, sustainable development and climate change. Climate Change Policy, Environmental Policy, Waste Management Strategy, National Parks, Afforestation and the Countryside, Rural Development, Agriculture, Horticulture, Fisheries, Aquaculture, Animal Welfare Veterinary Services

Joe Mizzi, Minister of Transport and the Infrastructure. Manufacturing and Servicing, Construction and Maintenance, Cleansing, Coordination of Major Government Projects, Internal Transport, Roads, Coordination of Road building, maintenance and Llandscaping.

Anton Refalo, Minister for Gozo. Gozo Affairs (excluding Health services and Education)

Helena Dalli, Minister for Social dialogue, consumer affairs and civil liberties.

Social Dialogue, Civil Liberties, Equality, Data Protection, Non-Governmental and Voluntary Organisations, Competition and Consumer Affairs, Medicines Authority, Industrial and Employment Relations.

Chris Cardona, Minister for the Economy, Investment and Small Business.

Economic Policy, External Trade, industry and investment promotion Government Investments, Small Business and the Self-Employed, Cooperatives, Trade Services Ports, Maritime Affairs, Promotion of Financial Services, Information and Communication Strategy, Digital Economy

Marie-Louise Coleiro, Minister of the Family and Social Solidarity. Social Policy, Family Policy, Child Policy, Social Housing, Social Security, Pensions Solidarity Services,Policy concerning Persons with Disability, Elderly, Community Care

Manuel Mallia Minister of Home Affairs and national security.

Defence, Armed Forces, Police, Immigration, Airport Security, Correctional Services, Probation and Parole, Civil Protection, Citizenship and Expatriate Affairs, Central Visa Unit, National Identity Management, Courts of Justice, Attorney General’s Office, Notary to Government, Broadcasting, Public Broadcasting Services

Edward Scicluna, Minister of Finance

Budget Office, The Treasury, Inland Revenue, Indirect Taxation, Customs and Excise, Contracts, Financial Services Regulation, Malta Statistics Authority, Relations with Central Bank

Konrad Mizzi Minister for Energy and Water conservation

Development of Alternative Energy Sources, Oil Exploration, Energy Policy, Malta Resources Authority, Enemalta Corporation, Water Policy, Water Services Corporation

Godfrey Farrugia, Minister of Health

Health Services Regulation and Standards, Health Services, Occupational Health and Safety


Parliamentary secretaries will work under the various ministers.

Ian Borg, Parliamentary Secretary for EU funds and 2017 presidency.

Michael Farrugia, Parliamentary Secretary for Planning and Administrative simplification.

Jose' Herrera, Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government and Culture.

Stefan Buontempo, Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport.Owen Bonnici is to be responsible for justice.

Roderick Galdes, Parliamentary Secretary for for Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Rights.

Edward Zammit Lewis Parliamentary Secretary for for Competitiveness and Economic Growth.

Franco Mercieca parliamentary secretary for active ageing and disability rights.

Owen Bonnici, parliamentary secretary for justice.


Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us