Double Trap shooter William Chetcuti and bowler Sue Abela were the main winners in the 2013 Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali which were organised by the Għaqda Ġurnalisti Sport (GħĠS) the Le Meridien Hotel.

Chetcuti won the Sportsman of the Year award for the third year in a row and a record 10th time in his career after topping a poll conduced by GħĠS members.

The double trap shooter, winner of a gold medal in the Mediterranean Games in Mersin last summer, collected 231 votes to finish ahead of kickboxer Daniel Zahra and boxer Billy Corito.

Abela was named Sportswoman of the Year for the fourth time in her career after just pipping target shooter Eleonor Bezzina by a mere vote.

Abela, winner of a gold medal in the Mediterranean Challenge Cup, received 206 votes, just one better than Bezzina while Nicole Gatt (athletics/weightlifting) was third on 158.

The waterpolo national team landed the Team of the Year award after finishing ahead of Pool national team and the women’s football national team.

Karl Izzo, the waterpolo national coach, lifted the Official of the Year award for the first time in his career after placing ahead of Malta Pool secretary Vince Degiorgio and women’s football national team coach Pierre Brincat.

Nathan Lee Xuereb won the U-18 award for a third successive year after the double trap shooter, who won the European Junior Championship last year, placed ahead of Gatt and young swimmer Neil Muscat.

Inspire swimmer Vladislava Kravehenko received the award reserved for athletes with special needs.

Veteran sportswriter Wilfred Sultana was honoured by the Għaqda Ġurnalisti Sport for his contribution to the sport along the years.

The Malta Young Sailing Club were recognised for hosting yet another edition of the Euromed Championships in December.


Sportsman of the Year: 1. W. Chetcuti (shooting) 231; 2. D. Zahra

(kickboxing) 174; 3. B. Corito (boxing) 165; 4. S. Camilleri (waterpolo) 155; 5. A. Schembri (football) 145.

Sportwoman of the Year: 1. S. Abela (bowling) 206; 2. E. Bezzina

(shooting) 205; 3. N. Gatt (weightlifting/athletics) 158; 4. R.

Camilleri (athletics) 154; 5. Y. Carabott (football) 147.

Team of the Year: 1. Waterpolo national team 214; 2. Pool national team 190; 3. Women’s football national team 172; 4. Raffa bowls 149; 5.

Bowling national team 145.

Official of the Year: 1. K. Izzo (waterpolo) 225; 2. V. Degiorgio (pool) 201; 3. P. Brincat (football) 194; 4. J. Bugeja (shooting) 192; 5. D.

Neill (rugby) 191; 6. J. Caruana (weightlifting) 131.

U-18 award: 1. N.L. Xuereb (shooting) 223; 2. N. Gatt

(weightlifting/athletics) 197; 3. N. Muscat 154; 4. C. Sultana (squash) 152; 5. S. Buttigieg (gymnastics) 144.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us