A Dwejra steering committee dismantled more than three years ago has been reconstituted, Environment Minister Jose Herrera announced this morning. 

The eight-person committee will be chaired by marine archaeologist Timmy Gambin and will include representatives from the Malta Tourism Authority, Gozo Ministry, environmental NGOs and the hotels and restaurants sector, among others. 

Environment Minister Jose Herrera (centre) announcing the committee. Photo: George Scerri/Gozo MinistryEnvironment Minister Jose Herrera (centre) announcing the committee. Photo: George Scerri/Gozo Ministry

Dr Herrera said it was time Malta forged ahead in its drive to have environmentally important sites such as Dwejra recognised as UNESCO World Heritage Geoparks. 

Gozo Minister Anton Refalo agreed, noting that Dwejra had made the UNESCO World Heritage Site shortlist. 

The Dwejra steering committee was first set up by Mepa in 2007 to manage the area, but was subsequently dismantled in 2012. 

Dwejra, a Natura 2000 site, has struggled to cope with the strain put on it by the influx of visitors keen to catch sight of - and even walk over - its famous Azure Window. 

Cracks have appeared across the window, and San Lawrenz council has said that although it would like to prevent tourists from walking across it, it has no resources to do so.  

The steering committee will be composed of: 

  1. Timmy Gambin - archaeologist and committee chairman
  2. Michelle Piccinino - ERA representative 
  3. Herman Galea - PARKS Directorate representative
  4. Kevin Fsadni - MTA representative 
  5. Amity Gauci - Gozo Ministry representative 
  6. Vincent Attard - Nature Trust representative 
  7. Joseph Vella Gauci - Malta National Commission for UNESCO representative
  8. Michael Stivala - MHRA representative 

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us