The European Parliament approved the new European Commission headed by Jean-Claude Juncker in a vote today, clearing the way for the EU executive to take office on November 1. The vote was 423 votes in favour, 209 against and 67 abstentions.

Juncker, a former prime minister of Luxembourg, will succeed outgoing Commission president Jose Manuel Barroso.

The 28-strong executive, featuring one member from each EU member state, sets policies for the bloc in coordination with national governments.

Malta is represented by Karmenu Vella, who will be commissioner for the environment, maritime affairs and fisheries.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us