The Institute of Maltese Journalists introduced a series of firsts during a meeting of the new executive council, nominating its first-ever female president.

Sylvana Debono, who heads the editorial team at Beacon Media group ( and 103FM) will be heading the IGM team.

Debono will be supported by an executive council whose members have been assigned various responsibilities:

President - Sylvana Debono: director of policy, ethics, annual journalism conference coordinator and member of the Malta Journalism Awards Commission.

Deputy president - Claire Caruana: assist the president, SLAPP, outreach, campaigns.

General Secretary – Nigel Mifsud: administration, director of secretariat, international relations, coordinator on transformation to trade union and member of Malta Journalism Awards Commission.

Membership and events secretary – Christine Amaira: membership administrator, social policy and events.

Information secretary - Julian Bonnici: public relations, website and social media coordinator.

Treasurer – Mario Schiavone: financial reports, bank accounts, IĠM archives.

Assistant Secretary – Neil Camilleri: assists the General Secretary, reforms.

Education secretary – Charles Camenzuli.

Freelance, photographers and cameramen representative – Dominic Aquilina.

Sports journalists representative – Sandro Micallef.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us