Representatives of the teams in Group C of the Euro 2008 qualifying round meet in Istanbul today to draw up the match schedule.

The Malta FA's delegation is composed of president Joe Mifsud, national coach Dusan Fitzel and Ivan Vella, the national teams' secretary.

Group C of the Euro 2008 qualifiers also features current champions Greece, Turkey, Norway, Bosnia, Hungary and Moldova.

Istanbul had been chosen as the venue of the Group C meeting after the draw was held in Nyon last month. Turkey have since been ordered by FIFA to play their next six home matches at a neutral ground and behind closed doors following a fracas at their World Cup 2006 play-off against Switzerland in Istanbul.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us