The medieval chapel of Ħal Millieri just outside Żurrieq is accessible again following extensive storm damage to its rubble walls and pathways.
The chapel was repaired in time for the annual celebration in honour of the Annunciation of the Virgin Mary, being held on March 24, when the chapel will be open to the public from 9am and 6pm.
Mass will be celebrated at 10am, followed by the blessing of the adjoining churchyard.
Din l-Art Ħelwa, the volunteer heritage organisation which holds the chapel in trust, will be offering two guided tours of the site by Stanley Farrugia Randon at 11.15am and Anthony Mangion, curator of the chapel, at 4pm.
The chapel is a major landmark of Malta’s medieval past. The present edifice dates to around 1450, but archeological excavations have shown that it was built over the site of an earlier, possibly 13th century chapel, and a much older late-Roman rural complex.
It is best known for its medieval architectural features and for the unique set of fresco paintings that adorn its side walls between the springing of the arches.
This anachronistic cycle of holy effigies, which is believed to have been copied from the earlier chapel, has been expertly restored through the efforts of Din l-Art Ħelwa, as a fine exemplar of Maltese medieval vernacular art.
The church can be reached from Mqabba Road at the Żurrieq entrance to Blue Grotto Avenue or from Diamond Jubilee Square (Fuq il-Mentna) at the end of the Mqabba bypass.
Din l-Art Ħelwa thanked those who donated funds for the urgent repair of the damaged walls in time for the feast.
CommentsComments powered by Disqus
Do not have an account?Sign Up