Valletta and Ħamrun Spartans will be engaged in a nailbiting duel for the title as they play the first game of the best-of-three play-off final series this evening at the Corradino Pavilion (kick-off 20.00).

Ħamrun Spartans, who have won 16 out of 18 matches, boast the best attack with strikers Raphinha and Michel Melo Jose in fine form as they netted the majority of the Spartans’ goals.

The Reds enjoyed a comfortable passage to the final after beating Lija Athletic 12-6 on aggregate.

Valletta have emerged as the surprise package of the campaign. They placed third in the standings at the end of the regular phase with 13 wins from 18 matches.

The Lilywhites produced a stunning performance in the second leg of their semi-final to oust outgoing champions Luxol 9-7 on aggregate.

Valletta will be hoping that strikers Jovica Milijic, Xavier Saliba, Dylan Musu and Mohammed Elamari maintain their scoring spree against Ħamrun as they bid to win the futsal title for the first time.

The two finalists have met twice this season. They shared the spoils in a 4-4 draw in the first round but Ħamrun turned in a commanding display to see off the Citizens 7-2 in their second meeting.

The final between Valletta and Ħamrun is on a best-of-three format but every game must produce a clear winner. If a game ends in a draw at the end of normal time, penalties will be taken.

The team that secures two wins will be declared champions.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us