Lija Athletic secured the First Division title after seeing off Mdina Knights 7-0 earlier this week.

It was a bold performance from Lija who dominated the match from start to finish with Mdina failing to halt their opponents’ attacking raids as keeper Matthew Gatt was kept busy for most of the evening.

Ryan Bugeja, Floren Manea and Nicola del Re put Lija in the driving seat before the break and Jason Gauci (2), Mark Mizzi and Aleksandar Ribic completed the rout for the winners.

Lija have 60 points, nine more than Mellieħa in second place with one match left.

This was a season to remember for futsal newcomers Lija who won the championship after warding off Mellieħa’s challenge.

The Northenders have also been promoted as they are sure of finishing the season in second place.

Led by player-coach Del Re, Lija had an impressive run in the competition, dropping only three points so far after conceding only one defeat.

Meanwhile, Msida St Joseph booked a place in the promotion play-offs, along with Attard and Naxxar Lions, after beating Mqabba 10-6 in a thrilling encounter.

Msida enjoyed more possession with the experienced Zvezdan Vukovic and Marian Gologan an inspiration for their team.

Gologan was on target four times with the other Msida goals coming from Ryan Xuereb, Vukovic, Matthew Dingli, Noel Portelli, Chris Cutajar and Keith Cassar Jackson.

Mqabba hit back with goals from Paul Cutajar, Owen Fiteni, Steve Falzon, Conrad Dimech, Christopher Formosa and Clint Mifsud.

First Division: Lija Athletic 60; Mellieħa 51; Attard, Naxxar 39; Msida 36; Mdina Knights 28; Luqa 24; Sirens 22; Qrendi, Mqabba 21; Siġġiewi 12; Birżebbuġa 9.