Marsa played two games against Brooklands CC and one against Milan CC.

On Thursday and Saturday, Marsa met Brooklands. In the first match, the visitors won the toss and elected to bat. They totaled 223 runs with A. Platt 58 runs, T. Holloway 39 runs not out, C. Hart 38 runs and E. Woodage 35 runs.

For Marsa, Martin Llewlyn, Alan Kyle and Sam Dhandapani took a wicket each. In a great run chase John Grima top scored with 74 runs for the locals. He was well aided by Sam Dhandapani, 26 runs, Nowell Khosla 34 and Alan Kyle 20. The effort of the Marsa batsmen fell short by seven runs and the visitors won the game.

On Saturday, Marsa won the toss and elected to bat. Mike Caruana top scored with 61 runs. Ronnie Sacco batted well for his 33. Nadeem Ashraf smashed 16 runs off seven balls.

Marsa accumulated a mere 209 runs. R. Holloway and M.Guy took three wickets each for the visitors.

Brooklands batted very well and made the runs with seven overs to spare. E. Woodage was into the runs again with 60 not out.

D. Halkon (21 runs), R. Holloway (32 runs) and Pearson (67 runs not out) gave Brooklands, who are on their second tour to Malta, their second win. The third game will be played today.

Last Sunday, Marsa played against Milan CC (originally Milan football and cricket club) who are on their fifth tour to Malta.

Marsa won the toss and elected to field. A fine 102 runs from Ashish gave the tourists a great boost in their total of 251 runs.

For Marsa, Nadeem Ashraf took three wickets. In reply Marsa started off with a great opening partnership between Sarfraz Ali (70 runs) and Joy Ghoseroy (58 runs). The first wicket fell at 149 runs at the 21st over.

The game was balanced and stayed that way till the last ball of the innings. Here, Marsa needed three runs to tie and four runs to win.

The batsman was unfortunately bowled trying to hit the winning runs. Milan emerged victorious, inflicting the fifth consecutive loss on Marsa.

Next Saturday, a Marsa select XI will take on an Asian XI in the Mediterranean Cup. This competition will be on a best of five 40-over games in memory of Iori Michael, Jerry Harris and Charles Mizzi.

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us