The Super Cup finals were played last weekend at the Cottonera Sports Complex. Paola Hibs Candy won the women's honour after beating Flyers 3-1 and in the men's category Aloysians came from 0-2 down to stun Fleur de Lys 3-2.

In the men's final, the first two sets belonged to Fleur de Lys with Paul Tonna and Dalton Caruana hitting a perfect combination. Aloysians committed too many unforced errors, particularly in service reception, and this dented their chances of successful attacks.

On paper, Fleur de Lys looked much stronger than the relatively young Aloysians side. And, leading 2-0, one thought this would be an easy victory for them.

However, Aloysians were in no mood to throw in the towel. Led by player/coach Alan Gauci, they staged an incredible comeback to win the next two sets and draw level.

Aloysians were on a high and Fleur de Lys seemed unable to get back into the game. The dedicated Darren Bugeja was instrumental for the winners with his consistent hard spikes.

Against all odds, Aloysians went on to claim the fifth set by a good margin to leave their opponents in a state of shock.

After Hibs' early exit at the hands of Flyers in the pre-season cup tournament, these two teams clashed again in the Super Cup contest for women's teams.

Flyers had central player Louise Camilleri missing as Hibs adopted a new rotation that saw Alison Borg Hayman attacking from the outside and Denise Aquilina being employed as a middle attacker. Hibs won the first set 25-22.

The second set went Flyers' way with Steve Farrugia's team playing excellent defence which made it tough for Hibs to score points.

Towards the end of the set, Flyers were leading 23-17 but six consecutive Aquilina services helped level the score. The set ended 30-28 for Flyers.

Hibs coach David Bonnici brought on Elaine Caruana to play from no.2 and with the team settled and playing good attacking volleyball, they found little resistance from Flyers who lost the third and fourth sets 25-17 and 25-15.


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus