Pearl Storm and Wee Catch Diamond won yesterday’s major events, a flat race on a short distance of 1,250 metres and a Premier Class race on a mile distance, respectively.

These races formed part of the 21st meeting of the season, made up of nine events.

Five horses participated in the only flat race in yesterday’s programme.

Irish debutant Chastening (Eric Zammit) was first out of the blocks, opening a half-length lead from Key Art (Sarah Borg) and Pearl Storm (Oliver Briffa).

However, with around 500 metres to go, Chastening ran out of steam and was reeled in by Pearl Storm which seized the lead and triumphed easily by three lengths. Timolin (Michael Sultana) finished third.

For Pearl Storm this was its first win of the season.

Thirteen horses lined up for the Premier race.

It was Absolut Spender (Mark Desira) the fastest horse at first, opening a half-length advantage from Wee Catch Diamond (Julian Farrugia) and Swedish new-comer Indigo Broline, under the guidance of owner Eugenio Bondin.

With 250 metres to the finish line, Absolut Spender lost pace and was outsmarted by Wee Catch Diamond which went on to secure its second win of the year at Marsa, finishing ahead of Quillian Joyeux (Andrew Farrugia). Indigo Broline and Absolut Spender claimed the other top-four positions.

Wee Catch Diamond clocked an average time of 1.13.8” per kilometre.

The other races on yesterday’s card were open for Gold, Silver and Bronze Class trotters and were also held on a mile distance.

In the first Gold race, Quintet (Brian Zammit) upped its pace when the horses turned around for the final straight.

This French trotter bagged its first win of the season easily by a length from Italian Los Angeles (Josef Farrugia) and Count Of Life (Claudio Refalo).

Robin Du Suret (Cliferty Calleja) followed home in that order.

A keen duel between French debutant Rainbow Sautonne (Clive Gerada) and Dutch mare Wies Buitenzorg (Desmar Bonello) developed in the final metres of the second Gold Class race.

It was the former which passed the post first but, after the race, Rainbow Sautonne was disqualified by the racing stewards and the win was awarded to Wies Buitenzorg.

Peanut Butter (Andrew Farrugia), Cowboy Party (Chris Cassar) and Italian newcomer Nashville Dancer (Andrè Farrugia) were second, third and fourth respectively.

The next meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Sunday with the first race starting at 1.45pm.

Yesterday’s winners at Marsa Racetrack

Race 1: Bronze, TB’s Memories (Redent Magro) – 1.15.2”.
Race 2: Bronze, Ami Blou (Matthew Sammut) – 1.15.9”.
Race 3: Flat, Pearl Storm (Oliver Briffa) - 1.13.4”.
Race 4: Silver, Storm Oaks (Charles Camilleri) – 1.14.7”.
Race 5: Gold, Quintet (Brian Zammit) – 1.13.7”.
Race 6: Bronze, Una Amosa (Tony Demanuele) – 1.15.1”.
Race 7: Gold, Wies Buitenzorg (Desmar Bonello) – 1.13.5”.
Race 8: Premier, Wee Catch Diamond (Julian Farrugia) – 1.13.8”.
Race 9: Silver, Jezira (Silvio Schembri) – 1.15”.


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus