The 2017 President’s Cup Championship got under way during the 38th meeting of the season at the Marsa Racetrack yesterday.

The championship is reserved for Premier class trotters and yesterday’s heats were held on the short distance of 2,140m.

From the four heats held yesterday, 24 trotters qualified for the semi-final stage.

In the first race, French Unrefundable (Anton Cassar) was unchallenged throughout to gain its first win at Marsa by a length and a half from French newcomer Twist Des Baux (Noel Baldacchino).

Uhal Berven (Rodney Gatt) and Dutch debutante Amour De La Rue (Mario Fenech) placed third and fourth consecutively and was joined in the next stage by another newcomer, Swedish Joker Stursk (Tony Demanuele) and Sephiro Flam (Clint Vassallo).

French Royal De Vaiges (David Ellul) took an early lead in the second heat but it ran out of steam and was overtaken by Swedish Power To Be (Charles Camilleri) which sealed it second win of the year.

Power To Be was joined in the next round by Spirit Des Logos (Julian Farrugia), Thoury Le King (Clint Vassallo), Ulster De Chenu (Noel Baldacchino) and Saphir Du Perche (Anton Cassar).

In third class Premier heat, Tip Top Nelliere (Michael Ellul) dashed strongly from the outside during the last 500m to bag its third win of the year from Tender And True (Ramon Briffa) and Quartz De Vindecy (Carmelo Farrugia).

Rififi Nonantais (George Attard), Turnover (Anton Cassar) and Italian newcomer Next To None Sib (Rodney Gatt) followed home in that order. 

There was a keen tussle between three trotters in the final straight of the fourth and last heat.

It was favourite Service Secret (Andrew Farrugia) which registered its eight win of the season from French newcomer Tipol De Nappes (Michael Ghigo) and Tonio u Vivier (Charles Camilleri).

Sacha Marboula (Rodney Gatt), Temps Perdu (Herman Mc Kay) and Urido d’Alban (Mario Fenech) were the last horses to qualify.

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Friday. The first race should start at 7pm.


Race 1. Class Copper – Tilt De La Loge (Rodney Gatt) – 1.18.7”

Race 2. Class Bronze – Trytocatchme (Charles Camilleri) – 1.19”

Race 3. Class Bronze – Reader JYL (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.18.7”

Race 4. President’s Cup heat, Class Premier – Unrefundable (Anton Cassar) – 1.15.3”

Race 5. President’s Cup heat, Class Premier – Power To Be (Charles Camilleri) – 1.15.6”

Race 6. Class Silver – Theo Des Landiers (Carl Caruana) – 1.18.9"

Race 7. President’s Cup heat, Class Premier – Tip Top Nelliere (Michael Ellul) – 1.15.8”

Race 8. President’s Cup Heat, Class Premier – Service Secret (Andrew Farrugia) – 1.15.6”


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus