Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney won the Professional Footballers' Association player of the year award at a ceremony late on Sunday and then declared his readiness for the World Cup.

Rooney, currently out of action with a groin injury, is widely regarded as being central to England's chances of winning the World Cup in South Africa later this year.

"I'm good," the 24-year-old Rooney told guests at the Grosvenor House Hotel in central London.

"I'm disappointed to miss a couple of games. Hopefully I will play before the season finishes."

Asked if he'd be fit in time for South Africa, Rooney replied: "No problems for the World Cup."

Rooney, asked what would constitute a successful World Cup for England, said: "Success would be to win the trophy. We prepared well and hopefully we can bring the trophy back home."

Reigning champions United trail Chelsea by one point in the Premier League title race with two games remaining and may need a favour from arch rivals Liverpool if they are to overtake the London club.

"I'm sure Liverpool will want to beat Chelsea," Rooney said.

"They are a proud club and they are still aiming to qualify for Europe."

Asked what had made the difference to a season where he has already scored 34 goals, Rooney replied: "The manager is playing me in a more central position up front which I've been asking him to do for a few years now and the service has got better.

"It's a great feeling to win the player of the year award because it's voted for by the players," said Rooney.

"I remember coming here in 2005 and 2006 to win the young player of the year. I saw the players winning the main one and it's something I've aimed for since."

United again

Rooney topped a poll of his fellow professionals in England to ensure the senior award stayed at Old Trafford after Cristiano Ronaldo's double in 2007 and 2008 was followed by United and Wales star Ryan Giggs's success last year.

Cesc Fabregas, the Arsenal and Spain midfielder, was third with Chelsea striker Didier Drogda the runner-up.

Aston Villa midfielder James Milner won the young player of the year award and former South Africa international Lucas Radebe, who played at Leeds United, won the PFA special merit award for his community work.

Team Of The Year

Joe Hart; Branislav Ivanovic, Thomas Vermaelen, Richard Dunne, Patrice Evra; Cesc Fabregas, James Milner, Darren Fletcher, Antonio Valencia; Wayne Rooney, Didier Drogba.

Sign up to our free newsletters

Get the best updates straight to your inbox:
Please select at least one mailing list.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By subscribing, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing.