The 27th meeting of the season was made up of nine races, yesterday.

With no Premier Class trotting events on the card, the most attractive were a flat race on a long distance of 1,750m and two Gold Class races on a long distance of 2,640m.

Six horses took part in the flat race and what an exciting contest it turned out to be.

Key Art (Sarah Borg) was the fastest horse out of the gates. During the first metres this horse went on to open a very small lead from Sweet Angelica (Matthew Mallia).

With around 500m to go Key Art was overtaken by Sweet Angelica. However, midway through the final straight, the English newcomer failed to keep the same pace going and was reeled in by Timolin which, under the guidance of Michael Sultana, went on to secure its first win of the year.

In the opening Gold Class race, Signe, driven by James Carabott, chalked up its first win in Malta.

This French nine-year-old trotter seized the lead with a lap to go and dashed first past the post some two lengths ahead of Quid D’Aliermont (Charles Camilleri), Rubis Du Chanoy (Noel Baldacchino) and Los Angeles (Josef Farrugia).

In the other Gold Class race, Oeillet De Phens (Rodney Gatt), produced a strong burst in the final metres for its first win this year.

Oeillet De Phens triumphed with Italian mare Mission Di Poggio (Charles Camilleri) lagging behind. Count of Life (Claudio Refalo) and Wies Buitenzorg (Eric Bezzina) followed home in third and fourth places respectively.

Yesterday’s winners

Race 1. Copper – Dreamed Victory (Jason Zahra) – 1.18.9”
Race 2. Bronze – Quad De Beauregard (Martin Fenech) – 1.18.4”
Race 3. Flat – Timolin (Michael Sultana) – 1.48”
Race 4. Bronze – Paco (Christian Xerri) – 1.17.9”
Race 5. Bronze – T.B.’s Memories (Redent Magro) – 1.18.3”
Race 6. Gold – Signe (James Carabott) – 1.17”
Race 7. Silver – Reprise Arriba (Rodney Gatt) – 1.17”
Race 8. Gold – Oeillet De Phens (Rodney Gatt) – 1.16.2”
Race 9. Silver – Razor Shadow (Nat-haniel Barbara) – 1.16.4”


Comments not loading? We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox with javascript turned on.
Comments powered by Disqus