An unexpected positive turnout in the first edition of TriGozo Garmin Sprint Triathlon, a multi-sport race which took place on the beautiful island of Gozo.

The event saw athletes of all ages, from youths to adults in which the majority participated individually. The event was sanctioned by the Malta Triathlon Federation and is valid towards Triathlete Of The Year points for the 2019 season.

The Sprint Triathlon race saw Shaun Galea, of Pembroke Athleta and Triathlon, taking the honours with a time of 1:03:49.

Galea was third out of the water behind Bernard Sant and Nikol Micallef, of Mosta Tri Team, respectively.

Shaun Galea pushed through the challenging, hilly route and managed to fight for the win, registering the fastest run split in the process.

Mosta Tri Team duo Sant and Markham completed the podium when placing second and third respectively.

In the female category, national champion Hannah Cutajar led the way throughout the whole route to cross the finish line in one hour, eight minutes and 39 seconds.

Cutajar managed a steady pace throughout, earning the fastest splits in all three disciplines.

Mosta Tri Team’s Margaret Seguna was second with Gozitan Felicienne Mercieca completing the podium.

The relay race was won by the team composed of David Sammut, Jason Vella and Johan Galea with a finishing time of 1:05:37.

The youth duathlon races saw newcomer Liam Daly taking the honours in Category 1 with a time of 4:17, while MYTA’s Miyah Vella topped the female category in 5:18.

Category 2 saw Sven Cini, of TriGozo, and Julienne Woods of MYTA taking the honours.

MYTA’s Kai Azzopardi and Keira Attard, of Tri Gozo topped Category 3 while Pavel Dalli and Pia Zammit emerged victorious in Category 4.


Comments not loading?

We recommend using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Comments powered by Disqus