Tonight's encounter between Malta and Spain will be the seventh time that both teams will cross swords.

La Roja have a 100 per cent record when it comes to matches against Malta, including three wins on our soil.

In the final four fixtures, Malta failed to score a single with Spain scoring a total of 13 goals.

The Reds' only goals came both in the 1984 European championship qualifications - a 3-2 defeat at the National Stadium, Ta' Qali and the single goal scored in Seville in the humiliating 12-1 loss.

Here's a look at the three previous appointments played in Malta: 

15/05/1983 - Euro qualifier, Malta vs Spain 2-3

The first ever clash between Malta and Spain was a memorable one for the Maltese as they gave the Spanish a run for their money, with the latter snatching the win five minutes from time.

Undoubtedly, this was the game which put Carmel Busuttil on the map of international football. The 19-year-old stunned the Spaniards with a commanding performance that saw him also score a brace.

Spain took the lead on minute 22 but the former Rabat Ajax player shouldered the responsibility of the attack on his shoulder and with goals on the 30th minute and the 48th minute, he had put Malta ahead.

The Spanish team was in a state of shock but a Francisco Carrasco goal on the hour mark had helped them restore parity.

With the Maltese set for a milestone draw, the Spanish team struck late in the game through Rafael Gordillo amid the heartbreak of the Maltese players and supporters. 

In the return leg, Malta was no match to the Spanish team as La Roja scored 12 to clinch a Euro 1984 berth.

In that European championship, Spain went all the way to the final before falling in the ultimate hurdle against Michel Platini's France. 

Malta's formation: John Bonello; Edwin Farrugia, Norman Buttigieg, Emmanuel Farrugia, Mario Schembri, Gigi Salerno, Emanuele Fabri, Michael Degiorgio, Silvio Demanuele, Carmel Busuttil, Ernest Spiteri-Gonzi.

Coach: Victor Scerri

Spain's formation: Luis Arconada; Francisco Bonet, Antonio Maceda, Jose Camacho, Juan Antonio Senor, Rafael Gordillo, Ricardo Callego, Victor Munoz, Marcos Alonso, Francisco Carrasco, Carlos Santillana. Subs used: Antonio Goicoechea, Hipolito Rincon.

Coach: Miguel Munoz

22/01/1989 - World Cup qualifier, Malta vs Spain 0-2

Spain's second visit to Malta proved to be a far more comfortable affair as they nullified Carmel Busuttil's threat to score twice without a reply and take victory home.

Led by Luis Suarez, the former Inter legend, the Spanish side broke the deadlock early in the game through a Michel penalty.

They sealed the victory with a 50th-minute goal from Aitor Beguiristain, who is currently the Director of Football at Manchester City. 

Malta's formation: David Cluett; Silvio Camilleri, Alex Azzopardi, Joe Galea, John Buttigieg, Joe Brincat,Raymond Vella, Michael Degiorgio, Martin Gegory, David Carabott,Carmel Busuttil. Subs used; Edwin Camilleri, Charles Scerri.

Coach: Horst Heese

Spain's formation: Andoni Zubizarreta; Enrique Sanchez Quique, Manuel Jimenez, Genar Adrinua, Manuel Sanchis, Roberto Fernandez, Miguel Gonzalez Michel, Martin Vazquez, Aitor Beguiristain, Manuel Sanchez Manolo Emilio Butragueno. Subs used; Alberto Gorriz, Sacristan Eusebio.

Coach: Luis Suarez

18/12/1996 - World Cup qualifier, Malta vs Spain 0-3

The final encounter between the two teams was on December 18, 1996, when Spain emerged winners 3-0 at the National Stadium in a World Cup qualifier.

The Spanish national team had several star players in its side including midfield duo Josep Guardiola and Luis Enrique, Spain's current coach. Moreover, up front they banked on the quality of a certain Raul, who went on to win every possible silverware with the glorious shirt of Real Madrid.

Spain's hero, however, was Athletic Bilbao's forward Julen Guerrero who grabbed all three goals inside the first 33 minutes.

After qualifying to the 1998 World Cup in France, La Roja failed to qualify from the group stages after finishing third behind Nigeria and Paraguay. 

Malta's formation: Reggie Cini; Jeffrey Chetcuti, Silvio Vella, Darren Debono, Richard Buhagiar, Noel Turner, Ivan Zammit, Antoine Zahra, Joe Brincat, Gilbert Agius, Hubert Suda. Subs used; Stefan Sultana, Brian Said. 

Coach: Milorad Kosanovic. 

Spain's formation: Andoni Zubizarreta; Alberto Belsue, Agustin Aranzabal, Abelardo Fernandez, Miguel Nadal, Roberto Rios, Josep Guardiola, Luis Enrique, Raul Blanco, Juan Antonio Pizzi, Julen Guerrero. Subs used: Armando Alvarez, Javier Manjarin, Guillermo Amor. 

Coach: Javier Clemente. 

Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.

Support Us